- Why There Is No Official ESNT Pass Rate
- What the Published Data Does Show
- Exam Design Factors That Shape Your Odds
- Where Candidates Lose Points: The Nine Domains
- Fee, Retake, and Format Mechanics
- Who Sits for the ESNT and Who Hires Them
- A Domain-Ordered Readiness Plan
- How to Read Pass-Rate Claims You Find Online
- Frequently Asked Questions
- ETA International publishes no official pass rate for the Electronic Security Networking Technician exam, so any specific percentage you see is unverified.
- The exam has 80 questions, a two-hour limit, and a 75% passing score, meaning you can miss at most 20 questions.
- One free retake is available within one year of your first session, which lowers the cost of a first-attempt miss.
- The syllabus spans nine competency areas, from networking basics to IP-enabled security devices and cyber security.
Why There Is No Official ESNT Pass Rate
If you searched for the ESNT pass rate hoping for a clean percentage, here is the honest answer: for the Electronic Security Networking Technician credential from ETA International, no official pass rate is published in the sources a candidate can verify. The competency requirements document, the ETA smart home certification page, the ETA Certification Booklet, and the testing FAQ describe how the exam works, what it costs, and what score you need. None of them report how many candidates pass.
That matters because this site, like many exam-prep sites, could easily fill the gap with a confident-sounding number. We won't. A fabricated figure would mislead you about how hard to prepare, and it would likely be borrowed from a different credential that happens to share the same acronym. Several unrelated certifications use "ESNT," and their statistics have no bearing on the ETA Electronic Security Networking Technician exam.
What we can do is examine the verifiable structure of the exam, because structure drives outcomes. The format, passing threshold, retake policy, and syllabus design all shape how likely a prepared candidate is to succeed. For a broader look at difficulty, see our guide on how hard the ESNT exam is.
What the Published Data Does Show
Even without a pass rate, ETA publishes enough hard numbers to build a realistic picture of what passing requires. Here is the verified exam profile:
| Exam Feature | Verified Detail |
|---|---|
| Number of questions | 80 |
| Time limit | Two hours |
| Passing score | 75% |
| Maximum questions you can miss | 20 (60 correct needed) |
| Examination fee | USD 105 |
| Remote proctoring add-on | USD 16 for a two-hour exam |
| Certification term | Four years |
| Hands-on assessment | Not required |
| Free retake | One, within one year of the first session |
The arithmetic is the first useful data point. A 75% cut score on 80 questions means 60 correct answers. You have 120 minutes for 80 questions, which works out to roughly a minute and a half per question. That is a comfortable pace for knowledge recall but tight if you stall on calculation-style items such as subnetting or cable-length reasoning. For the full breakdown of the threshold, see our page on the ESNT passing score.
The second data point is what is absent: there is no hands-on component. The credential is a proctored knowledge exam, so your result depends entirely on whether you can recall and apply concepts under timed conditions, not on demonstrating a skill at a bench.
Exam Design Factors That Shape Your Odds
A Real Cut Score, Not a Curve
The 75% passing score is a fixed standard. You are not graded against other candidates, so a strong cohort does not hurt you and a weak one does not help you. Your result depends on your own command of the material.
An Assumed Knowledge Floor
ETA's competency document assumes prior IT knowledge and working familiarity with network and security terminology. This is the single most important factor for predicting your outcome. The exam does not teach you what an IP address or a switch is; it expects you to already speak that language and then apply it to electronic security systems. Candidates arriving from a pure alarm-installation or CCTV background with little networking exposure face a steeper climb than those who already hold general IT experience.
No Published Experience Minimum
ETA's issued badge references practicing-technician experience and acceptance of the Code of Conduct, but it does not specify a minimum number of years. Standalone ESNT also does not require the CETa credential. That relatively open door means candidates arrive with very different preparation levels, which is one reason a single pass-rate figure would be hard to interpret even if one existed. Our ESNT requirements guide walks through eligibility in detail.
Where Candidates Lose Points: The Nine Domains
ETA's competency document names nine examination categories and states the exam is based on them. It does not publish percentage weights, so you cannot safely assume one domain counts for more than another. The prudent strategy is to treat all nine as testable and to find your personal weak spots. Our complete guide to the nine ESNT content areas covers each in depth; here is how to think about risk.
Domains 1 and 2: General Networking and Network Addressing
These are the foundation, and weakness here undermines everything after. Addressing in particular rewards practice because it is calculation-driven.
- Be fluent in IP addressing concepts and subnet reasoning, not just definitions
- Know the vocabulary of networking models and how data moves between devices
- Expect scenario framing tied to security devices rather than abstract IT theory
Domains 3 and 4: Network Cabling and Network Devices
For hands-on technicians these feel familiar, which can breed overconfidence. The exam tests precise knowledge, not general experience.
- Review cabling types, termination practices, and distance limitations
- Understand the role each network device plays and where it sits in a topology
- Be able to match a device or cable choice to a described installation problem
Domains 5 and 6: Internet Connections and Network Services
Candidates focused on the physical layer often neglect these. Remote access to security systems depends on them.
- Understand how a site connects to the internet and what that means for device access
- Know the common network services that security devices rely on to function
- Connect services to real symptoms, such as why a camera drops off after a network change
Domains 7 and 8: IP-Enabled Physical Security Devices and Cyber Security for Electronic Security Devices
These are the domains that make this credential distinct from a general networking certification. They are where networking meets access control, video, and alarm systems.
- Know how IP-enabled security devices are provisioned and integrated onto a network
- Understand the cyber security risks specific to connected security hardware
- Expect the exam to ask how to secure these devices, not just connect them
Domain 9: Common Network Testing and Troubleshooting
Troubleshooting questions integrate everything else and often reward methodical thinking over memorization.
- Practice isolating a fault by layer, from cabling up to services
- Know the purpose of common testing tools and what their results indicate
- Read symptom descriptions carefully; the right answer usually follows a logical sequence
Fee, Retake, and Format Mechanics
Pass rate is only part of the risk calculation. The other part is what a miss costs you. For the ESNT, the cost of a first-attempt failure is softened by policy.
The Free Retake
ETA offers one free retake of a failed exam within one year of the first session. This changes the economics considerably: a candidate who misses by a small margin can regroup and return without paying the USD 105 exam fee again. Remote-proctoring charges still apply if you test remotely, so a retake is not entirely free in that case.
Conflicting Retake Information
You may encounter older or third-party listings that mention a 30-day waiting period before a retake, along with slightly different fees. An ETA Press listing gives USD 100 for the exam and USD 50 for the upgrade, and printed page 20 of the current ETA Certification Booklet retains a USD 50 upgrade figure. The current etai.org ESNT page lists USD 105 for the exam and USD 55 for the upgrade, and those current prices take precedence. The current testing pages do not confirm the older 30-day rule, so confirm retake scheduling directly with ETA before planning around a specific date. Our ESNT certification cost breakdown lays out the full pricing picture.
Testing Formats
The exam is a proctored knowledge examination offered on paper or through Trapeza with an ETA Certification Administrator present. Remote testing is available through ExamRoom.AI, registered through ETA, at USD 16 for a two-hour exam. Remote candidates need a suitable computer, webcam, microphone, and internet speed of at least 3 Mbps. General testing rules require photo identification, permit scratch paper and non-programmable or scientific calculators, and require you to surrender used scratch paper. For scheduling specifics, see our guide to ESNT exam dates and scheduling.
Key Takeaway
Because a free retake exists, treat your first sitting as a serious attempt but not a make-or-break event. Use any score feedback to identify the domains that cost you points, and spend the retake window fixing those specifically rather than restudying everything.
Who Sits for the ESNT and Who Hires Them
Understanding the candidate pool helps you interpret why pass outcomes are hard to generalize. The credential targets technicians who install, configure, and maintain electronic security systems that live on IP networks: video surveillance, access control, intrusion detection, and related equipment. These are the people responsible for making sure a camera or door controller is reachable, secure, and correctly addressed.
Employers that value this credential tend to be security integrators, low-voltage contractors, and organizations running their own connected security infrastructure. The certification signals that a technician understands the networking underneath the hardware, which reduces the risk of installs that work in the lab but fail on a customer's real network. For more on the job landscape, see our overview of ESNT jobs, and for earnings context, our ESNT salary guide.
The Upgrade Path
The ESNT also functions as a stepping stone. Upgrading ESNT to Journeyman CET requires CETa and at least two years of combined training and experience, with a USD 55 upgrade fee on the current credential page. If you are weighing the long-term value of the credential, our ROI analysis of the ESNT covers that decision.
Keeping the Credential
Passing is not the end of the financial picture. Certification lasts four years, and general maintenance requires the maintenance form, either 10 continuing-education hours per year (40 over four years) or supervisor-completed Employer Verification, plus USD 25 per year (USD 100 over four years). Annual submission is recommended. The annual maintenance requirements and the four-year certification term are separate obligations.
A Domain-Ordered Readiness Plan
Because the exam assumes networking fluency and ETA publishes no weights, your plan should build from the foundation upward and reserve time for the security-specific domains that distinguish this credential. Here is one ordering that follows the logical dependency between the nine areas.
Foundations: Domains 1 and 2
- Rebuild general networking vocabulary and models
- Drill addressing and subnet calculations until they are automatic
- Use a timed practice set to confirm calculation speed
Physical and Device Layers: Domains 3 and 4
- Review cabling types, limits, and termination
- Map each network device to its function and placement
- Resist skimming these sections just because they feel familiar
Connectivity and Services: Domains 5 and 6
- Study internet connection types and remote access implications
- Learn the network services security devices depend on
Security Specialization and Troubleshooting: Domains 7, 8, and 9
- Focus on IP-enabled security devices and securing them
- Practice layered troubleshooting scenarios
- Finish with full-length timed practice exams and targeted review
This ordering puts the calculation-heavy material first, when you have the most time to build speed, and saves the integrative troubleshooting domain for last, when everything else can feed into it. For a fuller approach, our ESNT study guide expands on resources and pacing, and our ESNT cheat sheet is useful for a final review pass. You can also check your readiness against real exam-style questions with the ESNT practice tests.
How to Read Pass-Rate Claims You Find Online
Since no official figure exists, you will likely run into numbers on forums, training sites, and social media. A few filters help.
- Check the credential. Confirm the source is talking about the ETA Electronic Security Networking Technician exam, not another certification that shares the ESNT acronym.
- Ask for the source. A real pass rate comes from a certifying body or a documented dataset. A number with no citation is an opinion.
- Watch for training-company numbers. A provider quoting its own students' success rate is describing its cohort, not the exam population, and may be filtering who sits the test.
- Distrust round, confident figures. Precise-sounding statistics with no methodology are a red flag.
If you are still deciding whether the credential suits your situation, our overview pages on what ESNT certification is and ESNT training options are good starting points, and you can find further practice material on the main practice test site.
Frequently Asked Questions
ETA International does not publish an official pass rate for the Electronic Security Networking Technician exam in the sources reviewed. Any specific percentage you see is unverified and may belong to a different credential that uses the same acronym.
You need 75%. On an 80-question exam, that means answering at least 60 questions correctly, which allows for up to 20 incorrect answers within the two-hour time limit.
Yes. ETA offers one free retake within one year of your first session. Remote-proctoring charges still apply if you test remotely. Because older sources mention a 30-day waiting period that current pages do not confirm, check with ETA before scheduling your retake.
No. The exam is a proctored knowledge examination with no required hands-on assessment. It tests your recall and application of concepts across nine competency areas rather than bench skills.
The competency syllabus assumes prior IT knowledge and working familiarity with network and security terminology. ETA does not specify a minimum number of years of experience, but candidates without a networking foundation should build one before sitting the exam.